Espinosa plays despite bruised right hand

Espinosa plays despite bruised right hand

SAN DIEGO -- Nationals second baseman Danny Espinosa suffered a bruised right hand during Wednesday's 3-1 loss to the Giants. However, he was in the lineup against the Padres on Thursday.

Espinosa was hurt in the ninth inning. On a 2-2 pitch with two outs, Espinosa was hit on the right hand by a Matt Cain pitch. However, home-plate umpire Sam Holbrook and third-base umpire Greg Gibson ruled that Espinosa swung at the pitch to end the game.

The replay showed that Espinosa, who was in serious pain, did not swing at the pitch. Manager Jim Riggleman argued with Holbrook, but the play stood. Espinosa didn't talk to the media after the game. On Thursday, however, he said that he looked at the replay and felt he didn't swing at the pitch.

"It's an umpire's decision," Espinosa said. "You can't really do anything about that. But when I looked at the film, I didn't think I swung at all. My bat was way behind me. My hand just got hit. It was an unfortunate call, I thought."