Now Commenting On:

Nats make their roster official for NLDS

Nats make their roster official for NLDS

Nats make their roster official for NLDS
ST. LOUIS -- The Nationals' Division Series roster became official on Sunday morning, a few hours before Washington's scheduled 3 p.m. ET start time for Game 1 in St. Louis.

The shape of the roster that Nats manager Davey Johnson and general manager Mike Rizzo put together had already been finalized Saturday, but they waited until Sunday to make the official announcement. Washington will carry 13 position players, including two catchers, six infielders and five outfielders. There are five lefties and seven righties on the pitching staff, which includes four starters and eight relievers.

Veteran infielder Mark DeRosa, left-hander John Lannan and relievers Chien-Ming Wang and Zach Duke are with the team in St. Louis, as is Stephen Strasburg, but they are not on the active roster. Catcher Sandy Leon and outfielders Eury Perez and Corey Brown were sent to the Nationals' facility in Viera, Fla., to work out and stay prepared in case they are needed.

Christian Garcia, a righty reliever, made the Division Series roster after throwing 12 2/3 innings as a September callup. He struck out 15 and posted a 2.13 ERA, earning a spot on the postseason roster even if that would've seemed unthinkable back when he broke spring camp with Double-A Harrisburg.

"I can't say it was a surprise, because I have high expectations for myself, and big goals," Garcia said Saturday. "But it's obviously something I didn't have control over, so I was very excited. I wouldn't use the word surprised. I would say more excited than anything."

Closer Drew Storen, setup man Tyler Clippard, right-handers Ryan Mattheus and Craig Stammen plus lefties Sean Burnett, Michael Gonzalez and Tom Gorzelanny are also in the bullpen. Gio Gonzalez, Jordan Zimmermann, Edwin Jackson and Ross Detwiler are the starting pitchers.

Rookie slugger Tyler Moore made the cut, joining outfielders Jayson Werth, Bryce Harper, Michael Morse and Roger Bernadina; infielders Adam LaRoche, Danny Espinosa, Ian Desmond, Ryan Zimmerman, Chad Tracy and Steve Lombardozzi; and catchers Kurt Suzuki and Jesus Flores.

Boys and Girls Club of America

©2014 MLBAM, LP. All rights reserved.

The following are trademarks or service marks of Major League Baseball entities and may be used only with permission of Major League Baseball Properties, Inc. or the relevant Major League Baseball entity: Major League, Major League Baseball, MLB, the silhouetted batter logo, World Series, National League, American League, Division Series, League Championship Series, All-Star Game, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and slogans designating the Major League Baseball clubs and entities, and their respective mascots, events and exhibitions. Use of the Website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (updated May 24, 2013).

View MLB.com in English | En Español