Now Commenting On:

{"content":["awards" ] }

Nationals net numerous GIBBY nominations

Nationals net numerous GIBBY nominations

Nationals net numerous GIBBY nominations
WASHINGTON -- The Nationals won their first National League East title this past season, and several members of the organization have a chance to take home a 2012 GIBBY Award.

Shortstop Ian Desmond is a nominee for Breakout Hitter of the Year, second baseman Danny Espinosa could win for Defensive Player of the Year and Gio Gonzalez and Stephen Strasburg are up for Starting Pitcher of the Year.

Outfielder Bryce Harper is nominated for Rookie of the Year, and outfielder Jayson Werth has a chance in the category of Postseason Moment. He hit the game-winning home run in Game 4 of the NL Division Series against the Cardinals.

Davey Johnson is up for Manager of the Year, while Mike Rizzo could win Executive of the Year. Even mascot Teddy Roosevelt has a chance to win in the Oddity of the Year category. After losing 525 races, Teddy won his first race on Oct. 3.

Postseason baseball returning to Washington, D.C., is a nominee in the Storyline of the Year category, and Roger Bernadina's game-ending catch on Aug. 7 against the Astros is up for Play of the Year.

Major League Baseball's A-listers will take home 2012 GIBBYs trophies -- the ultimate honors of the sport's awards season -- based on votes by media, front-office personnel, MLB alumni, fans at MLB.com and the Society for American Baseball Research.

This year's GIBBY Awards feature nominees in 21 categories. Individual honors will go to the MLB MVP, in addition to the year's best starting pitcher, hitter, closer, setup man, rookie, breakout hitter, breakout pitcher, comeback player, defensive player, manager, executive and postseason performer.

GIBBY trophies also will be awarded for the year's top play, storyline, hitting performance, pitching performance, oddity, walk-off, Cut4 topic and postseason moment, from MLB.com's Must C highlight reels.

In the past four years, you the fans have cast more than 40 million votes across the various GIBBYs categories, none of which were restricted to individual League affiliation.

You can vote as many times as you want until fan balloting closes Sunday, Dec. 2, at 11:59 p.m. ET.

Winners will be presented their GIBBY trophies at the MLB.com Greatness in Baseball Yearly Awards extravaganza during the Winter Meetings in Nashville, Tenn., on Tuesday, Dec. 4.

Bill Ladson is a reporter for MLB.com and writes an MLBlog, All Nats All the time. He also could be found on Twitter @WashingNats. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

{"content":["awards" ] }
{"content":["awards" ] }
Boys and Girls Club of America

©2014 MLBAM, LP. All rights reserved.

The following are trademarks or service marks of Major League Baseball entities and may be used only with permission of Major League Baseball Properties, Inc. or the relevant Major League Baseball entity: Major League, Major League Baseball, MLB, the silhouetted batter logo, World Series, National League, American League, Division Series, League Championship Series, All-Star Game, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and slogans designating the Major League Baseball clubs and entities, and their respective mascots, events and exhibitions. Use of the Website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (updated May 24, 2013).

View MLB.com in English | En Español