PHOENIX -- Nationals manager Matt Williams challenged an umpire's call in the ninth inning of Wednesday's 5-1 victory over the D-backs, and it ended up going in Washington's favor.
With one out, Tyler Moore on first base and D-backs left-hander Oliver Perez on the mound, Jose Lobaton hit a low line drive to center fielder A.J. Pollock, who appeared to make a diving catch. But second-base umpire Adam Hamari said there was no catch and the D-backs were able to turn the double play to end the inning. Or so they thought. They were able to get the force at second and Lobaton didn't run all the way to first base and was called out.
But Williams claimed that Pollock caught the ball and Moore was safe going back to first base. The play went under review, and after more than a minute, the call was overturned and Moore remained at first base.
Bill Ladson is a reporter for MLB.com and writes an MLBlog, All Nats All the time. He also could be found on Twitter @WashingNats. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.