Williams then went to first-base umpire Tim Welke and wanted to challenge the play. After 3 minutes and 5 seconds, the play was overturned and Desmond was credited with a single.
Williams admitted that from where he was standing he didn't see the ball come out of his glove. Runners were placed on first and second, not first and third like Williams thought should have happened.
"We called up our replay guy and he said to challenge it," Williams said. "I asked Tim, what was the opinion of where [the runner would have been]. I think he is trying to advance to third there, but New York places them. It said place them at first and second. That decision was already made."
Bill Ladson is a reporter for MLB.com and writes an MLBlog, All Nats All the time. He also can be found on Twitter @WashingNats. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.