CLOSE

Now Commenting On:

{"content":["replay" ] }

Nationals issue challenge, get call overturned

Nationals issue challenge, get call overturned play video for Nationals issue challenge, get call overturned

WASHINGTON -- The Nationals challenged a play in the bottom of the eighth inning Thursday against the Phillies when catcher Jose Lobaton was called out at first after he hit a ground ball to shortstop with two outs.

Phillies shortstop Jimmy Rollins charged the ball, fielded and threw to first, where umpire John Tumpane ruled that the ball reached first baseman Ryan Howard before Lobaton touched the bag. But manager Matt Williams saw otherwise and challenged the call on the field. After a three-minute, 13-second review, the umpires found that Lobaton was in fact safe at first, and they overturned their decision.

It was the second time this series Williams got a call overturned at first base. The other came in the series opener when Phillies right-hander David Buchanan was called safe on a ground ball to first base. He was later ruled out after the umpires reviewed the play.

Daniel Popper is an associate reporter for MLB.com. He also can be found on Twitter @danielrpopper. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

{"content":["replay" ] }
{"content":["replay" ] }